How to Delete Remembered Network Passwords in Windows and Why

Deleting remembered network passwords will help ensure others are not able to access confidential or personal information at home and at work.

Recently we have gone over several tips for cleaning up your computer and how important it is to practice safe password procedures. When using a password it is best to construct a strong, easy to remember password by using a combination of numbers, letters and symbols. In addition, it is recommended that you use different passwords for different web sites. It's also a safe bet to delete any e-mails you might receive regarding usernames and passwords, just in case the unfortunate happens and your e-mail account is hacked into giving hackers unadulterated access to online accounts.

What about passwords that are stored on a computer connected to a network?

Did you know that your computer at home or a system at work that is connected to a network may have passwords stored on it? If you don't already know this, Windows keeps a password cache stored on your computer, where it remains until the computer is restarted or logged off. This is only accessible once you manage to enter your password and gain admission to your operating system. What happens if that's already been done and now someone is going through your computer without your knowledge? This could lead to theft of personal information or allowing outsiders to access your online accounts.

How to delete cached Windows Network passwords:

  1. Go to the Start Menu.
  2. Choose Run, then type in control userpasswords2 and press Enter.
  3. User Accounts Dialog Box will appear. Go to Advance Tab and Click on the Manage Password Button.
  4. In Stored User Names and Password, press the Remove button and remove all user information that you want to delete.

After the process is complete, the stored passwords will have been removed.

This will ensure you are at least moderately protected from any further acts of intrusion or concerns of someone accessing personal information when you leave your computer alone for a certain amount of time. Anybody who decides to access your system will not be able to find traces of your password or username, thus stopping any attempts they might make at entering your computer even after you have logged off.

What practices do you use to limit others from accessing accounts over the internet on your home or work PC? Do you lock your system down or do you choose to delete all remembered passwords?

Posted: July 24, 2009
Home Tutorials How to Delete Remembered Network Passwords in Windows and Why

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Please note that we are not able to assist with billing and support issues regarding SpyHunter or other products. If you're having issues with SpyHunter, please get in touch with SpyHunter customer support through your SpyHunter. If you have SpyHunter billing questions, we recommend you check the Billing FAQ. For general suggestions or feedback, contact us.